The city street is the lens

Thinking beyond the manure, the slides of cargo tricycles that have since been launched in Vancouver propelled me into the future of life here in the heart of the farmyard, a future livability of being here rather than just going somewhere else…

images above and below - False Creek Community Garden, located at the north end of the Cambie Street Bridge, immediately next door to the Neighbourhood Energy Utility (NEU) Garden

images above and below – False Creek Community Garden, located at the north end of the Cambie Street Bridge, immediately next door to the Neighbourhood Energy Utility (NEU) Garden 

“The City street is the lens
Through which I view
The magnification of
Agriculture potential
Stewarding
Its grit and droppings
To fertilize the freedoms
Of association I treasure
Above all else

Nourished by the sculpted sky
Grass fed grass roots
Dance with light and rain
Pop out of the sidewalked earth
Their tendrils reaching to us
With the embrace of paradise

My transportation plan
Involves not spilling the milk foam
On the way to my allotment garden
And not crushing the lettuce leaves
As I greet my friend on my walk home”

-Graham McGarva
Wednesday September 7th, 2011

For related blog post  by Graham McGarva, go to VIA Architecture’s blog page: http://via-architecture.blogspot.com/

